Saturday, April 28, 2012

Great White - Elation

Great White - Elation (2012) Frontiers Records
Produced by Michael Lardie
Tracks : 1.I´ve got something for you 2.Feelin so much better 3.Love train 4.Heart of a man 5.Hard to say goodbye 6.Resolution 7.Shotgun Willie´s 8.Promise land 9.Lowdown 10.Just for tonight 11.Love is enough 12.Complicated
2 out of 5

It has not been an easy road for the American band Great White so it´s logical to release the tell all book "Shark tales" in 2012 about the 30 years of rock and roll with all the line up changes, the 2003 fire disaster and lead singer Jack Russell´s recent health issues that led to other singers to step in and fill his shoes such as Paul Shortino, Jani Lane and Terry IIous (XYZ) who also got the job as the new frontman. Their 12th studio album "Elation" is the first without Jack Russell, who instead continue as Jack Russell´s Great White without the permission from the official Great White. Confusing to say the least! The band has sold 10 million copies around the world with the 1989 album "Twice shy" as their peak, their new album "Elation" is in no way near the same strength as their 80´s era. The production is weak and the major part of the songs lack of memorable melodies, a couple of songs that do sound ok are "Promise land" and the melodic "Love is enough". Perhaps the autobiography will be more entertaining?

No comments: